Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award

The Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the CII mission and to the success of CII as an organization. It is named in honor of Dr. Richard L. Tucker, who personally led the effort to create the Construction Industry Institute in 1983 and who served as the first CII Director from its inception until his retirement as Director in 1998.

The CII Executive Committee selects the award recipient. The award may be presented to a CII volunteer participant in CII programs, to an individual not affiliated with a member organization who otherwise meets the criteria for the award, or to a CII staff member. The award is to be presented not more than once per year, and is to be presented only when a worthy candidate has been identified and selected.

Award Selection Criteria

The recipient must have:
  • Been active in CII programs or have provided significant exceptional service to further the mission accomplishment of CII.
  • Demonstrated strong and lasting commitment and support for the mission and the objectives of CII.
  • Served as a role model for other CII participants.
  • Normally the period of service appropriate for consideration for this award will be three years or more.
  • Nominees cannot be active on the CII Executive Committee, or part of the current or past CII staff.
Contact Us
Debbie Samilpa, Senior Administrative Associate
(512) 232-3017
Download the Nomination Form (due April 20)


William O’Brien (2018)

An industry leader who has led and served others as a civil engineer, a start-up innovator during the early years of the Internet, a researcher, an educator, a supply-chain expert, and the interim Director of Fiatech as it returned to being part of CII

More Information on William O’Brien
William C. Beck (2017)

For his countless years of service to CII and dedication to improving this industry, we are quite proud to present the fourteenth Richard L. Tucker Award to Bill Beck.

More Information on William C. Beck
C. Jerome Eyink (2016)

CII selected C. Jerome Eyink as the thirteenth recipient of the Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award. He was recognized for this honor at the 2016 CII Annual Conference in National Harbor, Maryland.

More Information on C. Jerome Eyink
Richard E. Hoffer (2015)

A 31-year employee with Chevron, Hoffer currently manages the company’s Project Execution Center of Expertise, stewarding Chevron’s project management intellectual property and providing project support and competency development.

More Information on Richard E. Hoffer
John E. Nobles (2014)

When asked, his employees at Burns & McDonnell describe him as a visionary leader, a patient manager, and a supportive mentor, and they link these virtues to his CII involvement.

More Information on John E. Nobles
Jesús M. de la Garza (2013)

Virginia Tech

More Information on Jesús M. de la Garza

Melissa B. Herkt, Emerson Process Management (2012)

John W. Dalton, Sr., Mustang (2011)

Bernard J. Fedak, Aker Solutions (2010)

Paul Campbell, Mortenson Construction (2009)

Jimmy Slaughter, S & B Engineers and Constructors, Ltd. (2008)

Bill Badger, Arizona State University (2007)

Jim Scotti, Fluor Corporation (2006)

Gerry Greene, The Procter & Gamble Company (2005)

Kent Underwood, Solutia Inc. (2004)