Skip to Content (custom)

James B. Porter, Jr. Award for Technology Leadership

Each year, CII honors an individual who exhibits the traits and leadership qualities that James B. Porter, Jr. is known for. This award was established in 2007 as a tribute to Jim Porter, who was instrumental in establishing Fiatech and whose vision, leadership, technical acumen, commitment to people, and tireless efforts have advanced the capital projects industry.

Porter Nomination Form

Recent Recipients:

Keith Churchill

Focused on improving innovation and technology for the industry, engaged with CII research teams and its Technology Committee
Keith Churchill

Burcin Kaplanoglu

Recognized industry technologist, innovator, thought leader, and co-founder of the Oracle Industry Lab
Burcin Kaplanoglu

Carl Haas

From RFID to digital twin, this dedicated educator and researcher pursued how technology could improve construction projects, especially in the areas of technology, automation, and robotics.
Carl Haas

Award Selection Criteria

Criteria for the Porter Award include the following: 
  • Significant technology contributions to the construction industry (i.e., through innovation, effective implementation, business impact, and mentorship).
  • Demonstration of the highest degree of personal dedication to the development and advancement of technology within the capital projects industry. (Describe in detail.)
  • A leadership position in the construction industry from which others can be influenced by example, mentorship, or direction.
  • A record of accomplishment that brings distinction to the recipient and the organization with which he or she has been associated.
  • Nominees cannot be active on the CII Executive Committee, or part of the current or past CII staff.